1987 Chevy Custom Deluxe engine question

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Forum' started by Rebelryan13, Nov 8, 2012.

1. Rebelryan13

Rebelryan13 Full Member

Gas Station Manager
    Howdy, I have a 1987 Custom Deluxe that I'm rebuilding, and I'm new to everything. My plan is to make this a pullin' truck. Now, I have a 350 sittin' here needin' to be rebuilt and I have a question on what exactly should I do to it to get the power I need to pull with it. I didn't plan on puttin' a supercharger on it because I am not financially able to make a $3000+ purchase on one item. I also know if I set the engine up with low compression for the supercharger and not put it on right away, I wouldn't get any type of decent performance. So I need help with this decision. If I don't do use the supercharger, then I would need to up the compression ratio, and I need some advice on how I'm going to set this up. If you can help, I would be much abliged.

2. dirtrider73068

dirtrider73068 Moderator
    Staff Member

dump trucker driver
    They say you can take a rv cam and put it in and will help with torque.

3. chevychase

chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

SELF EMPLOYED
    What is your budget on this? Could make a 383 stroker...or just a mild build ? Are you wanting tbi, or carb.
    A good set of heads and cam will be ideal on a small budget.

4. leolkfrm

leolkfrm Full Member

pulling as in towing....yes rv cam, double roller timimg chain, prob need a reflash, mud had a good co for that

5. Boudin

Boudin Forum Moderator

Jack of all trades, master of none
    Forget the supercharger. IMO, that is up there in the category of nitrous oxide and something that I wouldn't consider on this project for a number of reasons. Mainly the one you already touched on....price. I think that extra money would be better spent elsewhere.