1997 GMC 1500 - new heater blower not working

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Forum' started by PickUpGirl787, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. PickUpGirl787

    PickUpGirl787 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Cut Lawns :), and Landscaping, work at Panera Brea
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1 PickUpGirl787, Feb 18, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2011
    I have a couple of questions for ya. I put a new blower motor
    in my truck thinking that it would fix the squealing noise it made,
    after i put it all back together I turned it on and got nothing.

    Took the test light to it and found that there was power to it and everything,
    I'm thinking it could be the switch, because I have had some problems
    with that too. staying on after I turned the truck off etc...

    does anyone have any ideas and should I get a new switch from the junkyard
    or should I call up Napa and just get a new one?
     
  2. 75K30

    75K30 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have voltage like you stated, then the switch is not the problem.
    Did you verify that the motor worked prior to the install?
     
  3. nnunez

    nnunez Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you change the swithc, I believe that I have seen the switch at the "help" section in Auterzone......

    But your switch may not be the problem if you have juice at the fan.
     
  4. 03chevy

    03chevy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    factory warehouseman
    Location:
    jax,fl
    make sure you didn't blow a fuse too.
     
  5. PickUpGirl787

    PickUpGirl787 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Cut Lawns :), and Landscaping, work at Panera Brea
    Location:
    Illinois
    fuse is ok. ill look again maybe ill take it all apart and put it all back together, gives me something to do :)
     
  6. WisconsinHick

    WisconsinHick Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Shoot if you have that much time to waste feel free to work on my truck anytime. I always have something new to work on. I would make sure the blower works. It might of been bad when you put it in.
     
  7. PickUpGirl787

    PickUpGirl787 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Cut Lawns :), and Landscaping, work at Panera Brea
    Location:
    Illinois
    I have no school this week so im really bored, Trying to pick up extra shifts at work but in the mean time its me and the remote watching lifetime movies or freezing outside working on the stupid heater :)
     
  8. crabtruck

    crabtruck Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Remember Ash, hot is only one side of circuit, check your ground path is good.
    Before pulling the blower, you could try a couple other things.
    With it all hooked up, key on, eng off, see if batteery voltage drops when you turn on fan.
    If it does, your connections are good.
    If not, may be connections, but disconnect the hot (& key out)
    and ohm the blower hot (wire from motor, not switch) to ground.
    If nothing, ohm across the blower itself.
    If good, try jumping the disconnected blower wires straight to the battery for a second.
    Good practices says use a fused wire to do the jump.
    If ohming across the blower by itself shows its open, the blower is bad.
     
  9. bigblue

    bigblue Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you got a short somewhere. Make sure your ground wire is attached. Any rust or paint where the wire goes means you aint got a good ground.
     
  10. silverhairdeere

    silverhairdeere Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    disabled
    Location:
    land between the lakes tn
    depending on on the year or if it has airconditing , i believe there is a resistor that controls the motor speeds

    silver hair deere
     

Share This Page