2000 Chevy K2500 w/5.7L 350 need to set timing , not running

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Forum' started by XJMUDDER, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. XJMUDDER

    XJMUDDER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    custodian/maintance
    Location:
    Vermont
    2000 chevy K2500 with a 5.7L 350 motor the dist. was pulled and a diffrent one put in now of course it won't start timing is off how do i set it ? i was told i needed a computer to hook up to it but since it won't start at all i don't think thats going to work , so anybody know what i need to do to it to get the timing set or at least close enough to get it to start ? any help will be great ,Thanks
     
  2. UncleBigBad1968

    UncleBigBad1968 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ne ok
    You may have to pull #1 spark plug out. Get the #1 piston to top dead center, look down the distributor hole, align the oil pumpump shaft to where it needs to be, slide distributor in, assuming its good. Re connect everything. firing order is still the same as older models I assume, 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2. At least thats how I do older v-8's
     
  3. Boudin

    Boudin Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Jack of all trades, master of none
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    Ditto on that. You might have to bump the starter to get the number one cylinder to top dead center. If you don't have a timing tab on the truck, just do it until you can stick a small screwdriver into the spark plug hole of the number one cylinder and be able to feel the top of the piston. Thats usually how I do it.
     
  4. Case 7230

    Case 7230 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to clarify what these guys have said, No1 piston needs to be at TDC on the compression stroke, otherwise you will be 180 degrees out.
     
  5. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,206
    Likes Received:
    12,794
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
    Do as the above to get close....but has to be timed with a scan tool ,or garage that has a scan tool that you can set timing with.
    Be best let garage do it unless you need a scan tool, or know how to set.
    Kinda complicated ...hold rpm,s at 1200 set tool to timing..set timing at 2 degree before or after tdc..
    Tighten all recheck.
     
  6. XJMUDDER

    XJMUDDER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    custodian/maintance
    Location:
    Vermont
    Not a problem with the scan tool but what do i need to do ? should i just pull the #1 plug and leave the dist. in or should i pull it back out and go from there ? i know how to do it the old way which is what you guys have said ( pulling #1 and have the rotor turn to that plug by pulling dist. and turning it ) but i don't know if its any different on these newer rigs or not ? this is what happens when somebody else plays with your rigs and they don't know what there doing ! next time i'll make sure to do it myself ! and thanks guys for all the help !
     
  7. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,206
    Likes Received:
    12,794
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
    Yes can get to #1 as older ones.. On the scan tool you have one that you can set timing with?
     
  8. XJMUDDER

    XJMUDDER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    custodian/maintance
    Location:
    Vermont
    my son does , so then just leave the dist. in and pull #1 plug piston on top at compression stroke then just pull and turn the dist. to where it needs to be ? that should get it started then he can plug his scan tool in and that should tell us from there right ?
     
  9. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,206
    Likes Received:
    12,794
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
    Rotor button should be pointing at #1 plug wire. To set with scan tool..set scan to cam retard offset.
    Have to start ..hold rpms at above 1000..anything below will not get accurate reading .
    Should be 2 degree before or after tdc. If not rotate dist counter clock wise for neg. clock wise for positive reading.
    Then tighten dist. check at 1100 rpm,s see if it is right.
     
  10. XJMUDDER

    XJMUDDER Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    custodian/maintance
    Location:
    Vermont
    Ok i know this is a dumb question but my mind has gone 100% blank ! is the #1 plug on the driverside ( closes to the front of the truck) or is it the pass. side ? if i rember right its the driverside but i really want to make sure ! thanks guys
     

Share This Page