Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 1997 Silverado Z71 tranny problems.

Exclamation 1997 Silverado Z71 tranny problems.

Hi all, I am a newbie here and I am looking for some info as to what can cause my tranny to act the way it is.

Just so you know I bought this truck (1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 4x4)this a few weeks ago with this problem but was told that it needed a new neutral safty switch as that is the cause of the problem. Now to my knowledge all that switch is supposed to do is prevent starting in gear but my dealership told me that it does about 18 different things but wouldn't enlighten me as to what those things are.

My truck will not shift unless I do it manually, also my speedo and tach will not function at all but the other gauges on the cluster do except my gear indicator light and my check engine light is always on.

I have checked the codes and they come up as the following and the meaning that my code reader gave for each code:

CODE
    P 0740>>> Torque Converter Clutch Circuit Malfunction
    P 0753>>> Shift Selonoid A....Electrical
    P 0758>>> Shift Selonoid B....Electrical
    P 0785>>> Shift/Timing Selonoid Malfunction
    P 1860>>> Dealer Specific....TCC Solenoid Circiut (thats what the dealer told me it meant)

Now I have been searching throught alot of posts on here and have came across a few users posts (mudseeker for one) that all seem to point to the problem being the Ignition switch, so I ordered one up and installed it today. I was very excited when I finished the install and was about to start her up for the first time and well my excitement quickly turned to WTF mode as nothing was different at all when I started it up and sat for a few minutes, engine light came back on and i got the same codes.

I mentioned the Neutral safty switch earlier and just to clarify....I HAVE NOT installed it yet as I dont think that has anything to do with the issues I am having(but I've been wrong b4).