Thread: 98 350 rough idle

98 350 rough idle

You guys are in for some fun, I got a 98 chevy k1500 with the 5.7 vortex. I bought this truck rebuilt the engine. And had it down at the dealership twice for the rough idle. I can't seem to fond a vacuum leak ive replaced the erg valve, thottle, iac, all oxygen sensors, but yet I have a small skip at idle. It's got a new distrutor, cap, rotor, plugs and PVC valve. There's almost nothing spare but it seems to still idle rough at stop signs. The only thing I see wrong is that I've seen that the cap isn't horizontal with the block bug it's been timed by the dewlership twice. I'm done Throwing them 85$ an hour when I think I'm a better mechanic. Any advice will help. I do have a slight cam I can send the duration but in my expisrience it shouldnt be.enough to cause this. Thanks guys.

Wires? you didnt mention them so thought I would ask... Diagnosing this problem is truly going to be a pain. You need to get a scanner on it, and make sure the scanner is held by someone that knows what those readings SHOULD be.. Putting it on a scope would tell you which cyl is doing the skipping, or if it is multiple cyl etc.. sounds like you have done the easy/obvious things already...
    Also, if you took it to the dealer to fix this problem... how are they justifying Charging you if the problem is not fixed?

The dealership didn't care, I got a 700$ bill and a "we have no idea" so I'm tackling this myself. I've personally never seen wires cause a problem only at idle. I tried misting them in the dark to see if I could see arcing but they were fine. I'm running out of ideas and have just started thowing parts at it, which as a mechanic I hate to do