Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1987 Chevy Custom Deluxe engine question

1987 Chevy Custom Deluxe engine question

Howdy, I have a 1987 Custom Deluxe that I'm rebuilding, and I'm new to everything. My plan is to make this a pullin' truck. Now, I have a 350 sittin' here needin' to be rebuilt and I have a question on what exactly should I do to it to get the power I need to pull with it. I didn't plan on puttin' a supercharger on it because I am not financially able to make a $3000+ purchase on one item. I also know if I set the engine up with low compression for the supercharger and not put it on right away, I wouldn't get any type of decent performance. So I need help with this decision. If I don't do use the supercharger, then I would need to up the compression ratio, and I need some advice on how I'm going to set this up. If you can help, I would be much abliged.

They say you can take a rv cam and put it in and will help with torque.
    1994 white ext cab chevy silverado 5.7 rolling 230k miles
    stock with air filter lid flipped,
    open flowing exhaust to a 40 series flowmaster dumped.
    God Bless America, Support our Troops!

Blog Entries
    What is your budget on this? Could make a 383 stroker...or just a mild build ? Are you wanting tbi, or carb.
    A good set of heads and cam will be ideal on a small budget.

Gitter done have fun. Running on empty...running blind...running behind.....

pulling as in towing....yes rv cam, double roller timimg chain, prob need a reflash, mud had a good co for that
    4 wheels move the body
    2 wheels move the soul
    B.W.A.I
    Snow is a lot like religion and a lot like sex....you never know when you are going to get it!....or how much you will get

Forget the supercharger. IMO, that is up there in the category of nitrous oxide and something that I wouldn't consider on this project for a number of reasons. Mainly the one you already touched on....price. I think that extra money would be better spent elsewhere.