1980 Chevy C10 Repair Questions

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Forum' started by Lennie Friedman, Jan 7, 2017.

1. Lennie Friedman

General Manager for a High Tech Manufacturing Firm
    I recently purchased a Chevy C10 to work on with my kids. Was looking for a multi-year family project. I have little experience working on cars or trucks.

Question:
    I replaced the mechanical fuel pump. How can I tell if I installed the pump arm under the push rod as intended? What signs would I look for it it was done properly or not? I was able to get the truck started after pumping the gas pedal for a few rounds to get fuel back into the carburetor. What is the risk if i didn't install it properly?

Thanks for the help!​

2. Kennyray

Kennyray Moderator
    Staff Member

Maintenance
    If it started you should ok. I don't think the pump would seat against the block if it wasn't right.

gmctrucks and Lennie Friedman like this.
  3. Lennie Friedman

Terrific. Thank you for the quick response.

4. dirtrider73068

dirtrider73068 Moderator
    Staff Member

dump trucker driver
    Don't think it will bolt in right if the rod is not seating right, I had to replace one on my old 82 chevy was a big PIA to fight that rod, a trick was to put thick grease on teh end of the rod lift it up the greas would hold it in place, I tried that with no luck think I used a tiny flat head screwdriver and after a hour of fighting it got it to work.

gmctrucks likes this.
  5. Lennie Friedman

Thanks for the info. That is what surprised me a bit. The push rod did not come out very far. I did not have to fight it to replace the fuel pump. That said, I hear you on the PIA. YouTube videos said it was a 30 min repair. Took me at least 3x. Appreciate your thoughts.

6. scavanger

scavanger Full Member

machinest working on retireing come June 2015