2003 Toyota Tacoma price?

Discussion in 'Toyota Truck Forum' started by wilhed, Dec 30, 2016.

1. wilhed

wilhed Member

machinist
    #1 wilhed, Dec 30, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
    I'm no truck expert but I wanted to see if anyone had any thoughts about what a 2003 Toyota Tacoma 4wd V6 SR5 with 99,000 miles on it might be worth. I paid a goodly sum for it but it gets such poor mileage - it's a manual as well - that I might be forced to sell. It's got a nearly perfect exterior and nice black color. Looks brand new. Supposedly an old guy drove it and mostly on the freeway but I have no way of verifying this. Carfax gave it a great report and a mechanic shop I took it to said the only thing they could see wrong is that the timing belt was a bit worn and could use replacing.

The seller had a "Gold" Toyota Extra Care Service Agreement lasting until 100K miles, which is why in part he decided to sell, I suspect. He paid 25K for it. New.

I'd heard Toyota trucks are extremely dependable - that's the main reason I went with Toyota. I looked at a couple Fords and one Chevy that a dealership was selling for 11K.

Now I'm feeling the pain of the poor mileage...I assumed a mid-size truck, a Toyota - and a manual at that - would get better mileage.

2. Kennyray

Kennyray Moderator
    Staff Member

Maintenance
    I'm not sure what it's worth. But if you want gas milage don't buy a truck.

gmctrucks and leolkfrm like this.
  3. leolkfrm

leolkfrm Full Member

kelly blue book, or nada, both online

gmctrucks likes this.
  4. gmctrucks

gmctrucks Full Member

Maybe all it needs us a tune up or your driving habits need to change don't take off so fast from a dead stop check air pressure of the tires read what type of gas you should use consider having the injectors cleaned or use a fuel additive and on the price google it and remember it's a truck not a small car.

5. jkeaton

jkeaton Full Member

Engineer