P0719 code need help

Discussion in 'GMC Truck Forum' started by Randy z71, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. Randy z71

    Randy z71 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I need help. My truck is throwing a code p0719 changed brake switch. Checked fuses wires that i can think of an still nothing need to get it smogged an can't till this is fixed. Cruise control doesn't work. Driving on freeway press brake an gas no rpm difference. Please help!!!!!!
     
  2. dirtrider73068

    dirtrider73068 Senior Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    4,393
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    dump trucker driver
    Location:
    Central Oklahoma
  3. Randy z71

    Randy z71 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
  4. Kennyray

    Kennyray Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    2,370
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Maintenance
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Did you use an AC Delco switch? After market switched are hit or miss and don't last long.
     
    MikeG likes this.
  5. Randy z71

    Randy z71 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes I used an a.c Delco. An my brake lights an everything are working correctly. An i just bought it changed it an problem is still there.
     
  6. dirtrider73068

    dirtrider73068 Senior Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    4,393
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    dump trucker driver
    Location:
    Central Oklahoma
    This may take time but check all the wireing, connections make sure they are tight and not loose check grounds they can cause funny issues. If circut is low its not getting full power and a bad loose ground could cause this as well as a short. Will do have a wireing diagram thread somewhere, may look there see if your year of truck is posted and follow wires.
     
    MikeG likes this.
  7. Kennyray

    Kennyray Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    2,370
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Maintenance
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Here's a thought, check your 3rd barke light. Cruise doesn't work on some trucks if it's blown.
     
    MikeG likes this.
  8. Randy z71

    Randy z71 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you happen to know what wires I should check to see if it's loose. Sorry to be a pain just not to big on electrical an it seems to be that type of problem. An also yes 3rd brake light is out I will go to Wal-Mart an get the bulb for that now an update you when I'm done. Thanks you.
     
  9. MikeG

    MikeG Full Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    2,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Wind Turbine Technician
    Location:
    Richland, Wa
    :idea: Maybe check to see if the 3rd Brake Light has it's own fuse ...........?
     
  10. Randy z71

    Randy z71 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    So third brake light fixed an problem is still there!!! Such a head ache.
     

Share This Page