04 Tahoe Z71 Vortec 327 Instrument Cluster Failure

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Forum' started by canright, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. canright

    canright Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My cluster discontinued in life.. It worked Intermittently for about 2 months then it finally gave up. I have read that this particular model has a problem with the clusters. But I just wanted to make sure there is no other LIKELY problem in the module before I dive in.
     
  2. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,489
    Likes Received:
    13,327
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
  3. MikeG

    MikeG Full Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,170
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Wind Turbine Technician
    Location:
    Richland, WA RAMforum.com
    Welcome to the Forum "Intern!!" :rofl:


    Once you remove the cluster maybe check voltages at all the connectors; also look at all the grounds too. I didn't remember if you said you have done that.......? That way you'll know if the issue is before the cluster.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,489
    Likes Received:
    13,327
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
    2 people like this.
  5. canright

    canright Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, Ill meter check it when I get it in the shop. By watching some of those videos I see that the dash is even easier to take apart than I previously thought. Thanks for the help.
     
    2 people like this.
  6. MikeG

    MikeG Full Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,170
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Wind Turbine Technician
    Location:
    Richland, WA RAMforum.com

    Hey Kent, this is probably a loaded question. When we (canright & I) were watching some of the vids in this link one was for a company that will repair the clusters and send them back. Are these controlled by a internal circuit board(s) or are there some other type of "replaceable" component(s)?

    Was just wondering if this was a job a Shade Tree Mech could handle in the garage/ shop, with out laying out the cash on a replacement cluster. Just thinking outside the box again.
     
  7. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,489
    Likes Received:
    13,327
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
    Yes just follow directions..wait ill postem here.. Really don,t need a fork..just turn counter clockwise while pulling.
    You 2 work on wind turbines..surley you can do this..if not some places will repair send back for $50.00 .
    How to Replace Gauge Cluster Stepper Motor
    If the needles in your gauge cluster flutter, stick, or stop working you may have a bad stepper motor.
    Dealerships want $400-$700 to replace the whole cluster, but you can replace just the motor for around $10.

    Time: 1-2 hours

    Cost: About $10 for 1 stepper motor (part: X-C5-168 or X-25-168)

    Tools:
    Stepper Motor/s
    Phillips Head Screwdriver
    9/32 Socket
    Soldering Iron
    Solder

    Step 1 (Remove dash faceplate)

    You will need to unplug all the wiring harnesses for lights, 4-wheel drive, and rear wipers.

    Step 2 (Remove gauge cluster)
    You will now be able to access the gauge cluster. Remove the 4 screws holding the cluster in place and then unplug the wiring harness.

    [​IMG]


    Step 3 (Disassemble cluster)
    The cluster is constructed from 3 pieces which are held together with clips. Remove the front clear cover by unfastening the clips.

    [​IMG][TABLE="class: ncode_imageresizer_warning2"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td2, width: 100%, align: right"][/TD]
    [TD="class: td1"]Report this image[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    You will now have access to the gauge needles.
    **IMPORTANT TO FOLLOW CALIBRATION STEPS PRECISELY***
    Place tape at the end of each needle.

    Turn each needle counter-clockwise until it stops as shown below and then mark off the location on the tape with a pen. If you do this, you should have no issues with calibration when you reassemble.

    [​IMG]

    Once you have your positions marked, turn each needle counter-clockwise until it breaks free from the shaft. Then use a fork to pry each needle off. It will take a little force, but just be slow.

    [​IMG][TABLE="class: ncode_imageresizer_warning2"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td2, width: 100%, align: right"][/TD]
    [TD="class: td1"]Report this image[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    Unfasten the remaining clips that hold the back cluster cover in place and remove. You will then be able to pull the circuit board off.

    Notice the 6 stepper motors, each about the size of a quarter.

    [​IMG]
    Step 4 (Replace stepper motor)

    On the reverse side of the circuit board you will need to desolder the 4 points that are holding the motor on. These are easy to determine as they stick up a bit more.
    Heat the solder and use a solder-****** to remove the solder. If you don't have a solder-******, you can have an extra hand pry at the motor from the other side as you heat.
    **Just be careful not to heat things up too much as this is a circuit board and you can harm other components if not careful.
    I was replacing my speedometer motor, so I desoldered the following points.

    [​IMG][TABLE="class: ncode_imageresizer_warning2"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td2, width: 100%, align: right"][/TD]
    [TD="class: td1"]Report this image[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    Once the old motor is off, make sure the holes are clear of solder and put your new motor in.
    Resolder your 4 points and place the circuit board on the back cover. Fasten the overlay piece back on now.
    Now press each needle back on in the 12 o-clock position. Then turn each needle back to your mark on the tape. If you miss the mark just keep turning counter-clockwise until you come around again.


    [​IMG][TABLE="class: ncode_imageresizer_warning2"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: td2, width: 100%, align: right"][/TD]
    [TD="class: td1"]Report this image[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    To test things out, plug the wiring harness back to the cluster. You should immediately see the needles jump down and then up to the original 'zero' points.
    Make sure the needle for your new motor moved. You should really test this out first before reassembling everything to make sure your needles go back to their original points.
    Typically, the gas gauge needle is a tick or so below empty. My RPM gauge was also about 100 rpm under zero at the rest position, so I made sure they were exactly in the same spot after I plugged the cluster back in.
    Yours may differ slightly.
    Once you determine your needles are correct, just snap the clear plastic cover back on the gauge.

    Step 5 (Reassemble)
     
    4 people like this.
  8. Railsplitter

    Railsplitter Auto Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Truck Driving... what else?
    Location:
    Coronado, CA
    Good Lord, just looking at that circuit board is making me go blind... :rofl: :no: :help: "Help, help, I've fallen and I can't get up!!!" :rofl:
     
    3 people like this.
  9. chevychase

    chevychase Semi-Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22,489
    Likes Received:
    13,327
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    SELF EMPLOYED
    Location:
    truck forum .org
    Lol i hate that commercial ..i know what Mikeg will do wif the fork ..have his cake and eat it toooo..want share.
     
    2 people like this.
  10. MikeG

    MikeG Full Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,170
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Wind Turbine Technician
    Location:
    Richland, WA RAMforum.com
    Shows what you know........... I'm not a greedy Fat Kid; I'd share my cake. Just not the fork. That would be weird!



    Will all this apply if the digital read out/ display also doesn't work? The ONLY thing that works is the check engine light.
     
    3 people like this.

Share This Page