1993 4WD V6 3.0L overheating problems

Discussion in 'Toyota Truck Forum' started by Mike33, Nov 21, 2018.

1. Mike33

Mike33 Member

I've owned this truck for about 6 months and last week it overheated on me and I don't know why. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of my imagination. I've change the thermostat (because it was cheap and easy) but that didn't do it. I replaced the radiator because I noticed some anitfreeze beading along the crimps along the edge as the engine warmed up but that didn't do it. The fan and fan clutch seem to be working fine and from what I can tell the water pump seems to be working (although, admittedly I didn't go in and take it out to inspect it because it is a real pain to get to on this truck. Last night when I started the truck up and let it get up to temp it started to overheat in less than 10 minutes. When I went around and felt the hoses the upper hose was nice and warm but the lower hose was not nearly as warm but I know fluid was flowing in through it because the clamp on the lower hose was not in a good position and antifreeze was leaking so I tightened that hose and clamp up. Also, when I run the engine with the radiator cap off alot of steam comes out of the radiator and the antifreeze bubbles over almost spewing at times and at other times the fluid level drops as it should.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. dirtrider73068

dirtrider73068 Senior Moderator
    Staff Member

sales associate
    Both upper and lower hoses on the rad should heat up the same if not there could be a flow issue, if its not flowing right then its not going to cool right and the rad helps cool it off with airflow and well as dissipate heat, it could be the water pump is bad, when the rad cap is off can you tell if the coolant is flowing or not? Does it overheat or try to over heat if you drive it? If it cools down when you are driving then its not getting good airflow over the rad, Or the pump is getting bad or weak.