1994 Suburban - Chasing a Ghost

Discussion in 'Chevy Truck Forum' started by DrvLikHell, Jun 19, 2015.

1. DrvLikHell

DrvLikHell Full Member

I ask the Earth questions
    Greetings and Sanitations!

This forum seems like one of the best out there for knowledge and stuff so I registered to ask for help with my newly acquired truck. My background is mostly in import cars. Don't automatically think Honda or ricer, more like 3000GT VR-4, Rx-7, Conquest, BMW, etc. I don't do FWD stuff. I also used to have a Trans Am and a Cadillac, though I never needed to work on either one. I'm usually fairly decent at troubleshooting and fixing problems, but this big red beast has me boggled.

I have a 1994 Chevy Suburban K1500 with 166,000 miles on the original 5.7. The only "mods" are aftermarket wheels, cat delete, and some kinda Flowmasterish muffler with chrome pipes out back. Otherwise it's all stock, except for repairs by previous owners, of which there have only been two (owners, not repairs).

The truck starts and idles fine... most of the time. When applying throttle it bogs out and acts like it's missing, stuttering, etc. Going very lightly on the throttle will usually incur no problems, usually, not always. Sometimes it wants to die as soon as I touch the throttle, but that's rare. Sometimes I can give it more throttle before it bogs, and sometimes much less. 80% of the time it will idle perfect, the other 20% of the time it's a little rough, and once in a great while will stall at idle. Usually stalling at idle occurs when coming to a stop after being driven a short distance (as in around the block, it's not road worthy yet). These problems get worse when it's hot. The check engine light works but does not light up unless I unplug something that it wants me to leave plugged in. It does not throw a code when it bogs or stalls.