New From Vermont, 2004 GMC Sierra Owner

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by JungleRamen, Jul 21, 2015.

1. JungleRamen

JungleRamen Member

Hi, new here from central VT.
    I own a 2004 GMC Sierra SLE extended cab with the 5.3L.
    I like to do what work I can myself, and I was a Mechanic in the Army from 02'-05'.
    Anyhow, just introducing myself.
    Figure this will be a helpful resource for my DIY projects and general advice if I run into problems.
    My AC just died the other day. I don't know much about how AC works, so here I am.
    I've owned my truck since last may of last year, and got it with 92k miles on it. It now has 100k.

3 people like this.
  2. jkeaton

jkeaton Full Member

Engineer
    #2 jkeaton, Jul 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015
    Welcome to the forum. As far as your ac system, it could be low on refrigerant or the compressor took a dump. Check the fuses, jump the low pressure switch momentarily to see if the compressor runs. If it does, it's probably low on refrigerant. You could refill it with a kit from Walmart, but if you have a leak, it will just leak out again. In that case, you gotta find the leak and repair/replace whatever is leaking. Might be easier to just take it somewhere and have it properly diagnosed if you are not familiar with those systems.

3 people like this.
  3. Bad88

Bad88 Full Member

Welcome to the forum. Hooah (HUAA).

1 person likes this.
  4. MrMarty51

MrMarty51 Full Member

Welcome to the forum Jungle.
    First, check the fuses; :idea: read all the way through this before proceeding, not guaranteed that, I have it all in order, should be close though. :rofl: